Earth Boys - eboys LP [Public Release]

eboys LP_cover.jpg

LP, September 28 2018

Public Release maintains its coast-switching lifestyle with what is perhaps its most ambitious project yet: Brooklyn duo Earth Boys’ debut full-length, the 'eboys' LP - the logical conclusion to chain of collaborations with Public Release boss Eug that began a little over a year ago with the release of their Trail Mix EP (later reworked by Khotin, Mike Simonetti and Lauer & Tim Sweeney as the Trail Remix EP). The two-disc, twelve-track album represents a new high for the pair comprised of Michael Sherburn and Julian C. Duron, both creatively and technically; ideas they’ve been stewing and simmering since their splash of a debut on Vancouver's 1080p in 2015 are now presented fully baked here.

'eboys' was conceived as a classic long-player, the whole thing feeling most satisfying when inhaled with one big tug from the A1 all the way to the D3. It begins with “The Intro,” a sort of manifesto for what’s to come: here, we find Earth Boys sitting, a little wine-drunk, at the piano, attempting a slick jazz lick that sits atop shuffling breaks and is completed with a free-wheeling sax soliloquy, courtesy of local friend Jeff Hackworth. Think of it as Sherburn and Duron’s title credits sequence à la Saturday Night Live. Then it's a splash of water across the face and onward to business with "Roll It Back," a flexy, laconic warmup workout that sets the tempo and pace for the party unfolding. The rest of the first side is a woozy, pads-and-vox-drenched crisscross through deep house tropes that unhurriedly tumbles into the B-side, a slinky, sharper-focused movement that begins with the G-funk-dusted “Bossa Nova Gang,” an homage to Bossa Nova Civic Club, the Bushwick dance-music incubator that the boys came up in and around.

With the next disc, Earth Boys nudge the tempo up a smidge and get a little punchier, first with “Come Thru,” an elliptical party jam with a fat, bouncy bass, then even more so with “Blue Iris,” a ravey anthem illuminated by black lights and lasers. The journey begins to come down with “Last Call,” a slo-mo wobble to the bar for one last shot of a perk-me-up, and then folds back into itself with “The Outro,” a chill-out finale that burns the remainder of the journey down to a sticky resin.

"The eboys LP is Earth Boys elevated no matter how you put it, which I’m not sure if that just means we were higher than ever making this record, or if we’ve actually grown as musicians. Regardless, making this record was one of the funnest and most genuine learning experiences Ive had in the music industry. Collaborating with Mike, Eug and friends has really opened up our future possibilities for music creation and we did a lot of experimentation which lead to us creating over 30 finished tracks. The hardest part was painstakingly narrowing it down to these twelve selects” - Julian C. Duron, Earth Boys

A1 The Intro 
A2 Roll it Back
A3 Brick
B1 Bossa Nova Gang
B2 Don Cado
B3 Memory of 95
C1 Come Thru
C2 Play at Dawn
C3 I'm Amazing
D1 Blue Iris
D2 Last Call
D3 The Outro